2017: Hopes, Dreams, and Art

15822879_10154912683521323_6514797054225253118_n

2017 is here and like many of you I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. What did 2016 bring me and what am I happy to leave behind? There hasn’t been an awful lot of chaos in my 2016, but many things came to surface in regards to my health, spiritual, and self care needs. Although some of those factors were incredibly challenging, they also opened a door for healing and improvement.

I’ve never been a fan of new year resolutions. They always added pressure and stress, not to mention a fear of failing even before starting. Instead, I’ve always preferred to leave behind the hurt and the difficulties of the year before, keeping an open mind and a hopeful attitude for the year to come.

This year, I’ve done the same, except I went the extra mile and signed up for something so amazing, so inspiring, and so stinkin’ colorful that I giggle when thinking about it.

LifeBook is something I stumbled on by accident. I’ve always been a fan of mixed media and whimsical art, dabbling with my own versions of it here and there. I happened to watch a video from one of my favorite mixed media artists, Leilani Joy . She shared some exciting news about Lifebook 2017, another year long program starting in 2017. Lifebook’s aim was to heal hurts, grow in may areas of your life, explore and honor yourself, while finding harmony and peace within the world. The program would be hosted by its creator, Tamara Laporte  on Willowing , with a mix of guest instructors, each bringing you different mixed media lessons to enrich your skills and take you on a personal journey.

Because this seemed like a sign from above, I decided to check out Lifebook and realized that this awesome idea has been enriching artists for quite a few years. I signed up immediately and could barely wait for the year to end so I could begin the program. And here we are, on January 4th, and I’ve already completed my first art assignment.

“Star Girl: A Journey with Light”, represents my hopes and dreams for 2017. I have left behind anything from 2016 that doesn’t serve me anymore, yet honoring each and everyone of them, as it taught me something valuable. My star girl is the first attempt at Lifebook, which by the end of the year will be bound in a journal. The process of creating her was extremely therapeutic and endearing. Most lessons are accompanied by a meditation exercise, in which Tamara gently guides you into your subconscious. It is uplifting and insightful to look into myself and wonder what exactly I am looking for this year.

img_4117So here she is, my star girl, leaving behind fears, anxiety, judgment, over thinking, and self doubt. In her basket she carries her hopes and dreams for the year ahead. She wants to create, take care of her self, believe in the magic of living in the moment.

As the year progresses and I continue to embark on an artistic and self discovery journey through Lifebook, I will update you on my progress and discoveries.

I won’t ask you to make a new year resolution, but I do ask you this:

Are you ready to embark on your own journey, aiming to discover your inner worth, the best version of yourself, and the beauty and talent you can offer the world?

What are your hopes and dreams for 2017?

To subscribe to my blog, please follow this link and subscribe to my main website.  http://tamararokicki.com/2017/01/2017-hopes-dreams-art/

Leave a Reply

