NaNoWriMo 2016: Day 2-The Dreaded Outline

 

list

Those who have followed my writing journey for a while know my extreme LOATHING for story outlines. Yes, they’re incredibly helpful, but my brain just isn’t wired to write following an outline. That’s good because it lets me write what inspires me in the moment without restraints. It can be liberating, inspiring, and less rigid.

But it’s also bad. Very, very bad.

There’s nothing worse than aimlessly writing half of your novel just to stop and think “okay, now what? I haven’t planned anything past this point.” Now, it doesn’t mean you’ve wasted a year writing a novel that just won’t go anywhere. A writer will always find a way to push through and continue with his story. Still, this process will waste a lot of time and energy. And let’s be real…wasted time just isn’t ideal when participating in NaNoWriMo.

Some of you may be thinking, “I didn’t outline! Will I suck at NaNoWriMo 2016? It’s already Day 2!”

 You’ll be happy to know that even if you didn’t outline you can still remain on track this year. Many writers think that outlining is an important step taken prior to writing a novel. Sure, that would be best, but as we all know life isn’t always ideal, and neither is the writing process. I will reveal something about outlining that not only makes the whole process of generating one less tedious, but actually worked in creating my very first outline—ever!

The truth about outlines is that [read more here…]

Leave a Reply

