NaNoWriMo 2016: Day 1

 

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_participantNovember 1st is here and for my first day participating in NaNoWriMo, I have written 1,130 words. I look at my progress chart, which tells me at this rate I will reach my 50K word count on December 15th.

But it doesn’t matter.

This year I embark on this journey worrying less about my daily word count and enjoying every minute of it, in front of the laptop, banging out word after word, letting my imagination run wild. I may end up with 20K words or 80K, who knows, but I am challenging myself one way or the other.

I will finish my first draft by the end of the year.

As the natural detourist I am, I’ve strayed from my initial novel, Blood Ties. I had worked on it for nearly six years, but then realized it was not meant to be. Yet, it didn’t go to waste. I learned so much in those six years. The struggle of outlining, the many revisions, the character profiles, the plot building. All of them provided me with the foundation for my current work in progress, something I wouldn’t be able to tackle without those years of preparation. [continue reading here…]

Leave a Reply

